Turning a Camphor Laurel Bottle

After the success of the bud vase that I turned on the drill press I wanted to have another go. I had a small piece of Camphor Laurel that I’d not found a use for and decided to try turning it into another bud vase. I got the basic shape done then decided it could be something a little more interesting.

I used a small file to cut a deep groove in the top so I had a lid and a body, then shaped it some more so that the lid had a bead on it.

20150725_140252

Once this was shaped and sanded I cut the lid off, drilled out the body and the lid and sanded it a bit more.

20150725_140321

 

The outside got a coat of orange oil and beeswax and I filled it with more of the camphor laurel shavings. The lid already had a hole from the nail I’d used to hold it in the drill press so instead of sealing it I shaped it a bit bigger.

20150725_142320

 

Fitted together it looked like this

20150725_142313

 

The final result is a small bottle that you can sniff when you have a cold to get the camphor smell. Now that the beeswax smell is fading the bottle itself has the nice smell too.

20150726_144651

Leave a Reply

