The thinnest plane shavings I’ve ever seen

I did a demonstration of planes last week to my local woodwork group and was talking about just how thin a shaving you could take. This video from a yearly planing competition held in Japan makes me wonder if I even know what planing really is. These guys get amazing results. Some of those shavings are 9 microns thick, and you can see right through them. Notice it’s all with wooden bodied planes, adjusting them to take that thin a shaving must be a skill in itself. Credit goes to Wilbur over at Giant Cypress where I first saw this video.

Leave a Reply

