More on the bench

I had Australia Day all planned out – get the rest of the legs built and the bench partially assembled. Instead I ended up having a BBQ with the neighbours followed by 3 1/2 hours of backyard cricket. I’m still feeling the effects so won’t be doing much heavy work on the bench today.

I did welcome a new member into my plane family this morning though. I traded a restore Disston tenon saw for a Record #7 plane, probably a late 40’s model given the build. I just gave it a workout on the bench rails and I’m very pleased with the results. I haven’t had a chance to use a #7 before and find the size suits me quite well. I think the old #6 will still have a home though, it’s easier to use on shorter board and for face planning.

I’m also off to the markets tomorrow in search of a plough plane, and if I can find one, a shoulder plane. Those two will pretty much complete my planes, I can’t see myself needing much more than those. As it is I’m seriously considering getting rid of the half sizes, though they look pretty I don’t find I need the extra width they offer. I will leave that decision for another day.

The only problem now is that I built my plane till when all I had was a #5 and a pair of smaller Trojan planes. The #6 fits, but the #7 is too long so at some point I’m going to have to build a new one. After the workbench though, and the completion date on that keeps getting further and further away.

That’s enough for now, off to watch the Aussie’s win the fourth test!

Leave a Reply

