Z-Vice – Review Continued

Last weekend I mentioned I’d picked up a Z-Vice, or Zyliss Vice as they used to be known. These are a bit of an oddity in the woodwork world, being a clip on vice rather than being bolted onto the bench.

They really are an interesting beast. I’ve given it a thorough workout this week and it’s done everything I’ve asked of it and more.

You can take a look at what I thought of the basic features in last weeks post, but I’ve had the opportunity to try out a few of the other features and I’m again impressed.

For example, I’m making a replacement saw handle for a dovetail saw right now and trying to grip in in a normal vice got in the road of the coping saw. I decided to try in sideways in the z-vice and found that with one of the plastic pipe holder covers on it worked perfectly.

I’ve also been restoring some saws, and as a saw vice it’s turned out to be fantastic. I used the aluminium jaw covers this time and it held it firm with no damage to the saw blade.

If you wanted to work the other way, just put the vice onto the pivot plate and it works great. This is also apparently great for carvers. Not being one I can’t confirm if this is true but it does look like it would work.

I’ve been reading the manual and apparently you can reverse the jaws as well so it can be used with the end stop to hold drawers for example, and if both reverse then you have a very powerful spreader as well.

I know I sound like an ad for them but it’s not often I find something so well thought out. I’ll keep you updated on how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

